Nature’s Classroom Supply List!

Here’s the supply list for Nature’s Classroom, which is coming up on April 27th!

We depart at 7:30AM from School, bright and early Monday morning!

The keys to this supply list are: do not bring any nice or new clothes (no signed Michael Jordans…), check the weather in advance (wunderground or weather.com), don’t run out and buy everything on the list, bring waterproof boots and lots of socks, and leave your cellphone, iPad, tablets, etc. at home.
NC Supply List

 

Great Marsh Exhibition Websites

These are the suggested websites for your investigation of the Great Marsh for Exhibition:

Websites:
Salem Sound Coastwatch http://www.salemsound.org/
Massachusetts Audubon Society http://www.massaudubon.org/
Parker River National Wildlife Refuge http://www.fws.gov/refuge/parker_river/
Common Birds of New England (11 different shore and coastal birds) http://www.bio.brandeis.edu/fieldbio/Birds_Kamm_Kuss/Pages/PAGE_SEARCH_HABITAT.html
Ten New England Birds of Prey http://www.squidoo.com/new-england-birds-of-prey
Biomes of the World: Salt Marsh https://php.radford.edu/~swoodwar/biomes/?page_id=742
Saltmarsh Habitat and Avian Research Program (teacher background) http://www.tidalmarshbirds.net/
The Great Marsh http://www.whsrn.org/site-profile/great-marsh
Ipswich River http://www.ipswichriver.org/
Parker River http://www.parkerriver.org/
Merrimack River Watershed Council http://www.merrimack.org/home-page/
Great Marsh http://www.greatmarsh.org/
Project Snowstorm http://www.projectsnowstorm.org/
Encyclopedia of Life Field Guide to the Great Marsh http://fieldguides.eol.org/fguides/fieldguide-view.php?guidekey=715
All About Birds http://www.allaboutbirds.org/Page.aspx?pid=1189
Encyclopedia of Life http://eol.org/

Why is Mathematics like a thumb?

math

As we get ready for Exhibition on Thursday night, we’ll be spending time making our projects Exhibition-ready and making the final edits to our essays in Humanities and Astronomy; we will also be preparing for the math concepts we’ll study next semester. On Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, the first 45 minutes of every Math/Science block will be a math lesson. We won’t have any homework, because you need to be revising your writing, but we will be doing problems in class and explaining them in words. We are going to be learning how to use variables to describe number patterns and developing our algebraic thinking. On Wednesday, you will do one of the most powerful things our species has ever done.

“To Infinity and Beyond!”: The Astronomy Investigations

  • Learning and Viewing Constellations
  • The Earth-Moon System
  • The How and Why of Eclipses
  • The Solar System Model

Task: You will investigate one of four Astronomy projects that will broaden and deepen your understanding of how the Sun, the Earth, and the Moon interact in a complex cycle.  You will research these relationships, explain them in writing, and create models to demonstrate your understanding.  Mr. Blakney will be teaching all of these concepts in class, and we will use class time to do research and work on our projects.

Each person must:

    1. Conduct research to answer the essential question of their project;
    2. Write important information, cut out pictures, write prompts based on each topic;
    3. Attach an index card to each set of “notes” that states where the information was located.
  • These are due, Thursday, January 29th.

The complete assignment, with project teams, is on Google Classroom.